top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebrooke houston

prototyping - 3

A prototype is an early sample, model, or release of a product built to test a concept or process. [1] Lecturer Mr Billinghurst outlined why we prototype in todays lecture as well as how we can quickly prototype mixed reality experiences. We prototype because it is a quick way to show the visual design. it captures key interactions while focusing on user experience. and it clearly communicates design ideas.


As a first year design student with little to no coding experience how can I quickly prototype a mixed reality experience? For low fidelity I can use methods I am comfortable with such as sketching, photoshop, powerpoint and even video. high fidelity although it would be useful for me to familiarise myself with programmes such as amazon Sumerian, Tori Wire-framing and Microsoft Marquette. Although I have been learning a new programme on this course called Unity.

We learnt that prototyping is one of the most important skills you can have as a mixed reality interface designer, you should always keep the user at the hear of the process and that it is essential you take on and gather feedback.


I found prototyping so interesting as it emphasised this phase of the design process is just as important as the final result. As we have not started our practical projects yet of designing our own ar/vr game/function I looked into what other designers have produced and their prototyping methods. On YouTube I found this interesting video which allowed be to see a project from concept, prototype to end design.



After all that excitement with prototyping we then proceeded to the tutorial portion of the lecture. this being setting up our phones for virtual reality. This knowledge can be used to create a high fidelity prototype. We used unity to design this prototype and another software called Xcode in order to be able to test app in an iOS device. Xcode is Apple's integrated development environment (IDE) that you use to build apps for Apple products including the iPad, iPhone, Apple Watch, and Mac. It provides tools to manage your entire development workflow—from creating your app, to testing, optimising, and submitting it to the App Store. I decided I wanted to create a basic scene with an asset from the unity asset store. the real challenge was going to begin when I try to set up my very slow broken iPhone 6 to a new updated advance 2020 software.


Unfortunately I encountered a lot of diffucltys around this small project due to my iPhone being unable to update any further from iOS as it is an iPhone 6.


This was what I was able to create with my very limited skills. I am very happy although that I could get unity running on my device and I am proud of myself for resolving so many technical issues to get this to run.




References:


https://developer.apple.com/library/archive/documentation/ToolsLanguages/Conceptual/Xcode_Overview/

https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/3d/characters/animals/lowpoly-toon-cat-lite-66083

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

design principles for MR - 5

MR standing for mixed reality combines both principles for augmented reality and virtual reality. When designing for MR interfaces we were taught to think of the physical components, virtual component

prototyping platforms - 4

Lecture 2 lots of practical examples of prototyping and VR. The lecture was focused around how to build visual prototypes for the simulation. We then looked into case studies. It was awesome to see re

presence - 2

“The subjective experience of being in one place or environment even when physically situated in another” In todays lecture we learnt about mixed reality technology and how it involves simulating sens

logo.png
bottom of page